Malaya and British Borneo 1 Dollar banknote of 1953

26 Sep 2018  Wed

The Malaya and British Borneo dollar was the currency of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak, North Borneo, Brunei and Riau Archipelago from 1953 to 1967 and was the successor of the Malayan dollar and Sarawak dollar, replacing them at par.

The currency was issued by the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Malaya and British Borneo. After each country got independence, Malaya, Singapore and Brunei ended the common currency arrangement and began issuing their own currencies in 1967. However, the Malaya and British Borneo dollar continued to be legal tender until 16 January 1969. The currency was also being used in the Riau Archipelago in Indonesia prior to 1963.

All banknotes of the 1953 series bear the date 21 March 1953, and signed by W.C. Taylor, the Chairman of the Board of Commissioner of Currency. Today we are discussing a 1 dollar banknotes printed by Waterlow and Sons in London. The note specifications are as follows:

This blue and red banknote features the portrait of young Queen Elizabeth II on the obverse with textx “This note is legal tender for One Dollar in the Federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak, North Borneo and Brunei. Ex Unitate Vires. Unity is Strength. Pergo et Perago”. The reverse depicts the Arms of the Federation of Malaya and the 15 member states: Brunei, Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan (Negeri Sembilan), North Borneo, State of Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Sarawak, Selangor, Singapore, Trengganu.

Image Courtesy: Wiki images

Knowledge Base