Silver double Rupee of Durrani Kingdom

07 Sep 2018  Fri

The Durrani Empire was founded and built by Ahmed Shah Durrani. At its maximum extent, the empire covered the modern day Afghanistan, Pakistan, as well as some parts of northeast Iran, eastern Turkmenistan, and northwestern India.

Shah Shuja ul-Mulk also known as Shuja Shah Durrani Khan was the ruler of the Durrani Empire. Shuja was the Sadduzai line of the Abdali group of Pashtuns. He became the fifth Emir of Afghanistan.

The silver double Rupee depicted here was issued in the second reign of Shah Shuja from Bahawalpur mint. The obverse of a coin inscribed with Emperor's full name and title ‘Sikka Zad Bar Seem Wa Zar Chun Mihr-o-Mah Shahe Deen Parwar Shah Shuja-ul-Mulk’. The reverse of a coin inscribed with the mint name, RY, and Julus formula which read as ‘Zarb Bahawalpur Sanah Ahad Julus Mainamat Manus’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base