Gold Ashrafi of Abbas III

04 Sep 2018  Tue

Abbas III was a son of Shah Tahmasp II and Shahpuri Begum of the Safavid dynasty. After the deposition of his father by Nader Shah the infant Abbas was appointed nominal ruler of Iran on 7th September 1732.

Abbas III was deposed in March 1736, when Nader Khan had himself crowned as Nader Shah. This marked the official end of the Safavid dynasty. Abbas was sent to join his father in prison in Sabzevar, Khorasan.

Shah Abbas issued gold and silver coins during his reign. The mints are Tabriz, Iriwan, Tiflis, Rasht, Shiraz, Isfahan, Qazwin, Maragha, Nakhjawan, and Mashhad.

This gold Ashrafi was issued in the reign of Abbas III from Isfahan/Isbahan mint in 1145 AH. The obverse of a coin showed the Persian legend ‘Sikka Bar Zar Bah Taufiq Ilahi Dar Jahan Zil Haq Abbas Salas Sani Sahib-e-Qiran Zarb Isfahan’. The reverse of a coin inscribed with Shia Kalima ‘La Ilaha Illallahu Muhammadur Rasulullah Ali Wali Allah’ and name of the Imams ‘Ali Hasan Husain Ali Muhammad Jaafar Musa Ali Muhammad Ali Hasan Muhammad’.

Image Source:

Knowledge Base