Silver Rupee of Wazir Muhammad Khan

03 Sep 2018  Mon

The Princely State of Tonk accepted the British suzerainty in the year 1817. After the country achieved independence in the year 1947, Tonk state acceded to the newly formed Union of India.

The founder of the state was Nawab Muhammad Amir Khan (1769-1834), an adventurer and military leader of Pashtun descent from Afghanistan. Amir Khan rose to be a military commander in the service of Yashwantrao Holkar of the Maratha Empire in 1798. In 1806, Khan received the state of Tonk from Yashwantrao Holkar. In 1817, after the Third Anglo-Maratha War, Amir Khan submitted to the British East India Company, he kept his territory of Tonk and received the title of Nawab.

Muhammad Wazir Khan was the second ruler of the princely state of Tonk. He was the son of Muhammad Amir Khan whom he succeeded. During the Indian Rebellion of 1857 he allied himself with the British and repulsed rebels.

He issued silver and copper coins during his reign. These coins were issued from Sironj and Tonk mint. The legend on the coins usually has the rulers name and title on the obverse with AH date and Leaf mint mark.

Above shown silver Rupee which issued in the reign of Wazir Muhammad Khan from sironj mint was Sold for INR 2000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base