Coin of Madura Sultanate

01 Sep 2018  Sat

Madurai Sultanate was a short-lived independent Muslim Kingdom based in the city of Madurai; today it is a part of the Indian State of Tamil Nadu.

Jalal Al-Din Ahsan Shah was the first sultan of Madurai Sultanate. In the year 1335 CE, the sultan declared his independence over Delhi Sultanate and formed this sultanate. He and his descendants ruled Madurai Sultanate until 1378 when the last sultanate of Madurai lost the battle against the forces led by Vijayanagar Empire.

During the reign, he issued gold, silver, copper, and billon coins. The denominations are Pagoda, Paisa, Tanka, and Jital and their different fractions.

This Billon Jital issued by Jalal Al-Din Ahsan was struck in the Hijri Year 738. The obverse of this coin is inscribed with the legend ‘Al-Husani’. The reverse of a coin is inscribed with the legend ‘Ahsan Shah’ with AH date 738.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base