Coin of Ranjit Singh

18 Aug 2018  Sat

The history of Jaisalmer is dated back to the medieval period when the golden city was founded by Rajput chief Rawal Jaisal, after whom both the city and the state were named. Like Jaipur, Jaisalmer too reached its highest peak in the Mughal period. The state came under British Protection in 1818, and on 30th March 1949, it merged into the newly formed state of Rajasthan.

Ranjit Singh ascended the throne in 1846 and ruled till 1864 AD. He issued coins in gold and silver with the mint name ‘Dar-ul-Riyasat Jaisalmir’ in various shapes viz. Hexagonal, Octagonal, Round or irregular, and square. These coins were issued in the name of Queen Victoria legend on the obverse read as ‘Victoria Farman Rawai Inglistan’ and reverse of the coins represents symbols such as Bird, Umbrella, Trishul.

Denominations are Rupee, Nazarana Rupee, Nazarana 5 Rupee, Nazarana 5 Mohurs, Nazarana 2 Rupee, Nazarana 1-1/12, Mohur, 1/8 Rupee, 1/8 Mohur, 1/8 Rupee, ¼ Mohur, ½ Rupee, and ½ Mohur.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base