Silver Rupee of Shujaalpur Mint

20 Jul 2018  Fri

The Princely State of Bhopal was founded by Dost Mohammad Khan in the year 1707 AD. He was a Pashtun soldier in the Mughal army under the service of Emperor Aurangzeb. After the death of Emperor Aurangzeb, he annexed several territories to his fiefdom. The state was ruled by the Muslim rulers until the last Nawab Hamidullah Khan acceded the State to India in the year 1949 AD.

This silver Rupee was issued by Hayat Muhammad Khan with Wazir Muhammad Khan as regent in the name of Shah Alam II. The obverse a coin depicts the Persian legend with fly whisk symbol while the reverse depicts mint name, Julus formula, RY, and Javelin symbol.

The town of Shuja'alpur, located about 90 Km from Bhopal, originally belonged to the Sindhias, but went through a transient phase of occupation by Bhopal, during the 2nd Anglo-Maratha War.

In 1808, it fell to the Pindari leader Karim Khan, who operated on behalf of Daulat Rao Sindhia. The British confirmed it to the Sindhias at the end of the 3rd Anglo-Maratha or 'Pindari' War. Silver rupees struck during the Bhopal occupation are exceedingly rare with less than five pieces known to have survived. On them, the symbols of Bhopal affinity are clearly evident.

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base