Sun Symbol on Princely State Indore coin

03 May 2018  Thu

Sun is a star in the center of the Solar System. In Sanskrit, it is also called as Surya. According to the Hindu Mythology sun has twelve names they are: Aditya, Surya, Bhanu, Mitra, Kha, Ravi, Pusha, Savitra, Arka, Bhaskara, Hiranyagarbha, Marichin. Sun is also considered as the creator of the universe and the source of all life. Sun is considered as the Vedic god in Hinduism. There are several temples which represent the Sun god as their principal deities such as a Konark sun temple in Odisha and Modera in Gujarat. Before human species discovered fire, the only source of light was the Sun and Moon. Sun is considered to be a destroyer of darkness and evil and a symbol of virtue and truth.

Many Indian King had issued a coin with a Sun symbol. In India, we can see the image of the sun in ancient Punch Marked coins, Western Kshatrapas, Portrait coins of Akbar. The above coin was issued by Tukoji Rao II of Princely State Indore is one of the examples of coin issued with Sun Image

To Know more about similar topic click here

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base