Aztec New Year

12 Mar 2021  Fri

Falls on 12th March every year, the Aztec New Year is the celebration of the New Year according to the Aztec calendar. The date on which the holiday falls in the Gregorian calendar depends on the version of the calendar used, but it is generally considered to occur at sunrise on March 12.

The Aztecs were a Mesoamerican culture that flourished in central Mexico in the post-classic period from 1300 to 1521. They follow the Aztec or Mexica calendar which is comprised of a 365-day calendar cycle called xiuhpohualli (year count) and a 260-day ritual cycle called tonalpohualli (day count).

The holiday is observed in some Nahua communities in Mexico. To celebrate, ocote (pitch-pine) candles are lit on the eve of the New Year, along with fireworks, drumming, and singing. Some of the most important events occur in the major cities of Mexico such as Huauchinango, Naupan, Mexico City, Zongolica, and Xicotepec.

The Bank of Mexico issued a 1 Peso banknote in the year 1948 which depicts the Aztec Calendar on the centre along with the bank’s name and the denomination. The reverse of the coin depicts Statue of Victory, Mexico City along with the bank’s name and the denomination.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base