Battle of Talikota

25 Jan 2021  Mon

The Battle of Talikota; was fought between Deccan Sultanate and Vijaynagar Empire on 26th January 1565 CE. The Deccan Sultanate; was aligned with the four Muslim Sultanates, namely Bijapur, Bidar, Ahmadnagar, and Golconda. The battle took place at the site of the southeast of Bijapur, Today’s northern Karnataka.

The defeat of Aliya Rama Raya had led to the collapse of the polity and reconfigured Deccan politics. The word Aliya refers to the Son-in-law in the Kannada language. Due to the defeat; of the Vijaynagar Empire, small kingdoms like The Kingdom of Mysore, Nayakas of Vellore, Nayakas of Keladi in Shimoga declared their independence from Vijayanagar. The reason for the defeat; of the Rama Raya was the betrayal of two key commanders in the Vijaynagar kingdom known as the Gilani brothers.

This copper unit, which weighs around 3.15g, was issued by Aliya Rama Raya during his rule; in the Vijaynagar Empire. The obverse of this coin depicts ‘Lord Venkateshwara standing facing front with shanks chakra and Abhaya mudra. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with three lines Devanagari and Kannada with interlinear rules (Sri)/Ra Ma/Ra ya).

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base