Symbolic Form of Nine Austrian Provinces on Coin

29 Oct 2020  Thu

Austria is made up of nine states also name as Lander or Bundeslander. The 9 states are Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Upper Austria, Vienna and Vorarlberg.

Austria has aroused from the Austrian- Hungary Empire. It was a multiethnic kingdom. Austrian federalism is theocratic states with few legislative powers such as planning and zoning codes, nature protection, hunting, fishing, farming, youth protection, certain issues of public health and welfare and the right to levy certain taxes.

Federal law regulates matters such as criminal law, civil law, corporate law, most aspects of economic law, defence, educational matters and academia, telecommunications and health care.

The obverse of the coin depicts state title, the nine Austrian provinces in symbolic form. And the other side of the coin has value and minting year. It was issued for the first time on 10th December 1980. The legal tender status ended on 31st December 2001.

The edge of the coin has smooth with 19 pits. The coin is composed of Aluminium-bronze.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base