Ronald Reagan Presidential One Dollar Coin

24 Sep 2020  Thu

The United States of America issued this coin with the theme of President Ronald Reagan in the year 2016. Ronald Reagan was the 40th President of the United States of America; he served the United States of America as a president from 1981 to 1989.

Ronald Reagan started his carrier as a sports announcer in a local radio station and later became a successful Hollywood actor. He was a member of the Democratic Party and stood for liberal causes. He was an anti-communist who worked towards rooting out communism in Hollywood.

In the year 1964, be became a popular politician of the United States of America with the support of Barry Goldwater. In the year 1966, he became a governor of California and a contested for the presidential election in 1968. He was re-elected governor in 1970 and ran for president again in 1976 that he won. Reagan served two terms in office as President between 1981 and 1989.

The obverse of the coin features the smiling portrait of the president designed by Richard Masters, whose initials “RAM” appears along with Joseph Menna’s initials “JFM” who engraved the design. Other inscriptions include ‘RONALD REAGAN’, ‘IN GOD WE TRUST’, ‘40th PRESIDENT’, and the years of his two terms in office.

The common reverse design features the Statue of Liberty. A thin inner circle separates the graphic design from the inscription ‘UNITED STATES OF AMERICA’. The denomination USD1 is also inscribed on the coin. The edge of the coin is smooth and features edge lettering like the phrase E PLURIBUS UNUM, the date 2016, and the mint mark (P or D for Uncirculated strikes, S for Proofs).

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base