Copper 20 Cash of Princely State Mysore

27 Jul 2020  Mon

Mysore was a Princely State during the British rule in India. This state was formed by British East India Company in the year 1799 CE after the viceroy of the British in the Fourth Anglo Mysore war. The Princely State existed until the year 1947 and was later acceded to the newly formed Union of India. Krishna Raja Wodeyar was the Maharaja of Mysore state who ruled from 1799 to 1868 AD.

This copper 20 Cash was issued by king Krishna Raja Wodeyar during his reign in Princely State Mysore. The obverse of this coin depicts an image of an elephant walking towards the left. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with the name and title of the king.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base