Apollo Program Stamp of Ajman City

25 Jun 2020  Thu

The Apollo program was the third United States spaceflight program carried by NASA [National Aeronautics and Space Administration]. This was a successful landing of the first man on the moon. NASA name the program after Apollo which meant the Greek god of light, music, and the Sun.

Astronauts Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin landed the Apollo Lunar Module and walked on the lunar surface. While Michael Collins remained in lunar orbit. On 24th July 1969, all three landed safely on earth.

The Apollo program consisted of 11 spaceships. The first Apollo flight happened in 1968. The first moon landing took place in 1969. The last moon landing was in 1972. The first four flights tested the equipment used in the Apollo Program. Six of the other seven flights landed on the moon.

Ajman city of United Arab Emirates issued stamps to commemorate the event of the Apollo program in 1972. The city is the smallest emirates in the UAE and situated along the Persian Gulf.

Image Courtesy: Stampsoftheworld.co.uk

Knowledge Base