Silver Rupee of Hyderabad Nawan Mir Usman Ali Khan

27 Apr 2020  Mon

Hyderabad was a Princely State located in the South-central region of India. It was ruled by Nizam of Hyderabad from 1724 till 1948. The region had also become part of the Mughal Empire in 1680.

Mir Usman Ali Khan was the last Nizam of the Hyderabad. He ruled between 1911 and 1948 until it was merged with the Indian Union.

Mir Usman Ali Khan issued coins in various metals viz. gold, silver, bronze, nickel, and copper-nickel in shapes such as round or irregular and square from Haidarabad (Farkhanda Bunyad) mint. These coins were found in various denominations like Rupee, Ashrafi, Pai, and Annas.

This silver rupee was issued by Nawan Mir Usman Ali Khan during his rule in Hyderabad. The obverse of this coin depicts ‘Charminar with full Ain inside the archway, legend Asaf Jah above & flanked by the lettering Nizam-Ul-Mulk on the right and Bahadur on the left with AH 1330 below, Ornamental border around the circle’. The reverse of this coin is inscribed ‘Ek Rupya within a circle, Mint name Farkhandah Bunyad Hyderabad, Julus Mainamat Manus with regnal year 1.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base