Independent Kingdom Tripura

20 Apr 2020  Mon

Tripura is an Indian state situated in the north-eastern part of the Indian subcontinent; it is the third smallest state of India. Tripura shares its border from the north, west, and south with Bangladesh, from the east with Mizoram and from the northeast with the state of Assam. During the medieval period, this kingdom was at its highest peak.

Tripura has a long history; during the medieval period, the kingdom of Tripura was at its peak which includes an eastern region of Bengal from the Brahmaputra River in the north and west, the Bay of Bengal in the south and Burma to the east. The kingdom of Tripura was ruled by Manikya Dynasty till 13th August 1947, later it was in the subsidiary alliance, from which it was released by the Indian Independence Act 1947.

This silver tanka which weighs around 10.72 g was issued by Amar Manikya during his reign. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘ lion facing left, bead in front of the neck, two ears the tail, and several beads around the standard, date below’. The reverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Srihatte Vijayi/ Sri Srijutamarama / Nikyadevasria / Mrabati Devyau within a square’.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base