UNESCO was formed

16 Nov 2019  Sat

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization known as UNESCO is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris, France. It helps to preserve historical and cultural sites worldwide.

Formed today on16th November 1945, UNESCO recognizes and preserves world cultural and heritage sites like ancient ruins, villages, and temples, and historic sites. UNESCO’s initial emphasis was on rebuilding schools, libraries, and museums that had been destroyed in Europe during World War II.

It also promotes literacy, sex education and improving gender equality across all countries. It works to create the conditions for dialogue among civilization, culture, and peoples, based upon respect for commonly shared values. UNESCO comprises 195 member states and 10 associate members.

To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of UNESCO India Postal Department has issued a 20 Paise commemorative postage stamp on 4th November 1971. It depicts a painting in Ajanta Caves, where a UNESCO project for the preservation of these paintings was in progress. The symbol of UNESCO is also shown at the bottom right-hand corner.

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Knowledge Base