Gold Mohur of Jaipur

20 Jul 2019  Sat

Jaipur was the Princely State of India from 1128 to 1947 CE ruled from the 12th century till India's independence by different rulers in different ages. It was also known as Dhundhar, Kachwaha, Amber and Jaipur Kingdoms. Jaipur state was also ruled by the Mughal Empire and later by the British Empire. The city of Jaipur was founded by Maharaja Jai Singh II in the year 1728.

This gold mohur which was issued from the Princely State of Jaipur in the name of Mughal Emperor Bahadur Shah II. The obverse of this coin is inscribed with the name and title of ‘Bahadur Shah II’. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with Julus formula, Regnal year 11, mint name Sawai Jaipur and a Sprig.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm