Agha Mohammad Shah

17 Jun 2019  Mon

Agha Mohammad Khan Qajar also is known as Agha Mohammad Shah was the founder of the Qajar dynasty. The Qajar dynasty was an Iranian royal dynasty of Turkic origin. The Qajar family took full control of Iran in 1794, deposing the last Shah of Zand dynasty.

Agha Mohammad Khan’s reign is noted for the return of a centralized and unified Iran and, for relocating the capital to Tehran, where it still stands today. His successful reign was short-lived, as he was assassinated on 17th June 1797 in Shusha.

The above shown gold half Toman was issued during his reign from Dar al-'Ilm Shiraz mint. The obverse of a coin depicted the Persian legend ‘Shud Aftab-o-Mah Zar-o-Seem Dar Jahan Az Sikka Imam Ba Haq Sahib-u-Zaman’. On the other hand, the reverse of a coin has ‘Ya Mohammad Zarb Dar al-'Ilm Shiraz 1206’.

Image Source: Heritage Auctions

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm