Independence Stamps of Lesotho

17 May 2019  Fri

Lesotho is an enclave country located near within the border of South Africa. Lesotho was previously the British Crown Colony of Basutoland, but it declared independence from the United Kingdom in 1966.

Formerly known as Basutoland, Lesotho used stamps of the Cape of Good Hope and then of South Africa. The first stamps of independent Lesotho were issued on 4 October 1966. To commemorate this new era a set of four stamps were used with the denomination ranging from 2½ cents to 20 cents.

The stamp depicts the right and left facing portraits of Moshoeshoe I and Moshoeshoe II – the icons of the country. Moshoeshoe I was the first monarch of the country who ruled during the mid 1800s. On the other hand, Moshoeshoe II was the one who took out the country from the British rule and was the first king of Independent Lesotho.

The stamp is inscribed with “Independence” and “1966” at the top and the name of the country and the denomination value at the bottom. The portraits are captioned with the names.

Image Courtesy:

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm