Postage Stamps Commemorating Cricket World Cup

06 May 2019  Mon

Cricket lovers are eagerly waiting for the ODI Cricket World Cup which starts on 30th May in England and Wales. Participating countries and other countries might issue postage stamps to commemorate this exciting sporting event. 14 teams participated in the 2015 cricket World Cup which was held in Australia and New Zealand from 14th February to 29th Mar 2015.

On 4th February 2015, New Zealand issued a miniature sheet featuring 14 stamps on the 14 participating teams, represented by a Cricket ball and the Country flag. The 80 cents stamps were imperforate and peel off variety. ICC World Cup logo was printed on a label at the centre.

The India specific sheet featured the Trophy established in 1975 and a text "ICC Cricket World Cup Champions 1983 & 2011 India". This sheet was also sold by New Zealand Post through India Post Philatelic Bureaus.

A 10 taka stamp was issued by Bangladesh on 15th Mar 2015 to commemorate the 2015 Cricket World Cup. It features the Trophy, Bangladesh players on the Field and a Stadium. 350,000 such stamps were printed. The First Day Cover features the Flags of all the 14 participating countries and the World Cup Trophy.

On 13th September 2014, Sri Lanka issued a commemorative cover honouring the great cricketer Mahela Jayawardene. The quarter-final match of the 2015 World Cup was played between Sri Lanka and South Africa. Sri Lanka lost this match and could not qualify for the semis. Jayawardene took retired from all forms of cricket after this match.

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Image Courtesy: New Zealand Post

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm