Centenary of Jallianwala Bagh Massacre on Indian Coin

24 Apr 2019  Wed

The third commemorative coin released in 2019 to mark the 100 years of the historical Jallianwalla Bagh Massacre.

The Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place on 13 April 1919 when troops of the British Indian Army under the command of Colonel Reginald Dyer fired rifles into a crowd of Indians, who had gathered in Jallianwala Bagh, Amritsar, and Punjab. The civilians had assembled for a peaceful protest to condemn the arrest and deportation of two national leaders, Satya Pal and Saifuddin Kitchlew.

Hundreds of innocent Indian lives were lost when British forces ordered to fire indiscriminately inside the Jallianwala Bagh in Punjab's Amritsar on April 13, 1919. A commemorative coin of Rs 100 was released at the Jallianwala Bagh memorial on the 100 years of the massacre by the vice president M. Venkaiah Naidu today. Coin specifications are as follows:

Obverse: The coin depicts Ashokan Lion Capital in the centre flanked by “Bharat” and “India” on both sides and the denomination of RS.100 at the bottom.
Reverse: The other side of coins shows the “Jallianwala Bagh Memorial” in the centre with the year of issue at its bottom. The Reverse is inscribed with “Jallianwala Bagh Narasmhar Shatabdi” in Devanagari-Hindi and “Centenary of Jallianwala Bagh Massacre” in Roman-English.

Along with the Coins a set of two commemorative stamps were also issued.

Image Courtesy: http://numismaticscollections.blogspot.com

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm