Papua New Guinea 100 Kina banknote of 2005

28 Mar 2019  Thu

Papua New Guinea, in the southwestern Pacific, encompasses the eastern half of New Guinea and its offshore islands. A country of immense cultural and biological diversity, it’s known for its beaches and coral reefs. Inland are active volcanoes, Granite Mt. Wilhelm, dense rainforest and hiking routes like the Kokoda Trail. There are also traditional tribal villages, many with their own languages.

Papua New Guinea is richly endowed with natural resources, including mineral and renewable resources, such as forests, marine, and in some parts agriculture. The kina is the official currency of Papua New Guinea and is divided into 100 Toea. The kina was introduced on 19 April 1975 and circulated along with the Australian dollar until 1 January 1976, when the dollar ceased to be legal tender.

On 19 April 1975, notes were introduced for 2, 5 and 10 kina that replaced the Australian dollar at par, so the colour scheme was the same. Today, we are looking at a 100 Kina banknote issued in the year 2005. The note specifications are as follows:

The obverse has the Bird of Paradise - National Emblem symbolising National Unity to left; National Parliament in center and a stylised design to right. The reverse depicts the transition from the traditional primary economy towards the modern economy encompassing mining, petroleum, tourism, transportation, and technology; coffee beans, coconuts, fish, palm tree, bamboo, ship, airplane, truck, radio tower, etc.

Image Courtesy: PicClick

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm