Cook Islands 3 Dollars (1987)

19 Mar 2019  Tue

The Cook Islands is a self-governing nation in the South Pacific, in free association with New Zealand. Its 15 islands are scattered over a vast area. The country is renowned for its many snorkeling and scuba-diving sites. Although the region primarily uses the New Zealand dollar, the Cook Islands issued its own distinctive currency in 1987 and coins were minted from 1972.

The Cook Islands dollar is pegged at par with the New Zealand dollar. Both, the currency of New Zealand and the Cook Islands, are used for transactions within this country.

The note depicted alongside is a 3 Dollars banknote issued in 1987. The obverse has a nude Ina riding on a shark and the reverse depicts a fishing canoe and the God of Te-Rongo to right.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm