Biafra 5 Shillings banknote of 1968-69

18 Mar 2019  Mon

Biafra, officially the Republic of Biafra, was a secessionist state in West Africa which existed from 30 May 1967 to January 1970; it was made up of the states in the Eastern Region of Nigeria. Biafra's attempt to leave Nigeria resulted in the Nigerian Civil War.

After two-and-a-half years of war, during which almost two million Biafran civilians died from starvation caused by the total blockade of the region by the Nigerian government and the migration of Biafra's Igbo people into increasingly shrinking territory, Biafran forces under the motto of "No-victor, No-vanquished" surrendered to the Nigerian Federal Military Government (FMG), and Biafra was reintegrated into Nigeria.

An early institution created by the Biafran government was the Bank of Biafra. The bank carried out all central banking functions including the administration of foreign exchange and the management of the public debt of the Republic. After the announcement, tons of Nigerian bank notes were transported in an effort to acquire foreign exchange. The currency of Biafra had been the Nigerian pound until the Bank of Biafra started printing out its own notes, the Biafran pound. The first notes denominated in 5 shillings and £1 were introduced on January 29, 1968. In 1969 new notes were introduced: £10, £5, £1, 10/- and 5/-.

The note depicted beside is a 5 Shillings banknote issued in 1968-69. The obverse has Palm tree and a Rising sun. The reverse has Four smiling women. This predominantly Blue note has signatures of Sylvester U. Ugoh (Governor); and the Director.

Image Courtesy: Roberts World Money

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm