Silver Rupee of Sher Singh

02 Mar 2019  Sat

The Sikh Empire is also known as Sikh Khalsa Raj, Sarkar-i-Khalsa or the Punjab Empire. It was one of the major powers of the Indian subcontinent. The Sikh Empire was established in the second half of the eighteen century by Maharaja Ranjit Singh, who is also known as Sher-e-Punjab; and they diminished with the with the annexation of Punjab by the British Empire in the year 1849.

Sher Singh rules the state from 1840 to 1843 AD. During the reign, he issued silver and copper coins in the denomination of Rupee and Paisa. All these coins were struck at Amritsar, Anandghar, Kashmir, and Multan mint.

Depicted here is a silver Rupee issued during his reign. The coin depicts the Nanak Shahi legend ‘Sikka Zad Bar Sim O Zar Fazl Sachcha Sahib Ast Fath-I-Gobind Singh-I-Shahan Tegh-I-Nanak Wahib Ast’ on its obverse. The reverse of coin inscribed with Sanah VS date, Julus Maimanat Manus; Zarb.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm