Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


Jordan's Independence Declaration Stamps

07 Feb 2019  Thu

‘Independence Declaration’ stamps of Jordan were issued on 25th May 1946 when Jordan became the "Hashemite Kingdom of Transjordan".

Jordan was part of the Turkish Empire until 1918 which later became the Emirate of Transjordan under Abdullah. It was, in fact a part of the League of Nations mandate for the territories of Palestine. It remained a British mandate until 25th May 1946.

A set of nine stamps were issued to commemorate the declaration on Independence. The stamps came with different denominations ranging from 1 Palestine mil to 200 Palestine mils. The stamps depict the map of Transjordan in the background, a hand holding a torch supposedly the torch of independence and a peace-dove flying with olive branch in his beak.

On 25 May 1946, the Emirate became the "Hashemite Kingdom of Transjordan", achieving full independence on 17 June 1946. In 1949, it was renamed the "Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan".

Image Courtesy:

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm