Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


Coinage of Daulat Rao of Narwar State

04 Feb 2019  Mon

Narwar was one of the princely states of India that was under the administrative control Central India. It was ruled by Kachwaha Rajput until the 10th century. Thereafter Kachwaha, Parihara, and Tomara Rajputs ruled this territory until it was captured by Mughals in the 16th century. From the 19th century onwards, it came under Maratha’s influence.

After the country achieved independence in the year 1947, Narwar state acceded to the newly formed Union of India. Daulat Rao ruled the Narwar state from 1794 to 1827 AD. During the reign, he issued silver and copper coins in the denomination of Rupee, Paisa and in different fractions.

This silver Rupee of Daulat Rao issued in the name of Shah Alam II from Narwar mint. The obverse of a coin showed the Persian legend ‘Sikka Zad Bar Haft Kishwara Saya Fazl Ilah Hami Deen Shah Alam Badshah’. The reverse depicts the mint name, Sanah, and Julus formula which read as ‘Sanah 44 Zarb Narwar Julus Mainamat Manus’.

Image Source: Todywalla Auctions

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm