Celebrating 42nd Coast Guard Day!

01 Feb 2019  Fri

The Indian Coast Guard (ICG) is the 4th armed force of India. It protects our country’s maritime interests and enforces maritime law, with its jurisdiction extending over the territorial waters of India, including its contiguous zone and exclusive economic zone.

The Indian Coast Guard was formally established on 18 August 1978 by the Coast Guard Act, 1978 of the Parliament of India as an independent Armed Force of India. As the fourth largest Coast Guard in the world, the Indian Coast Guard has played a significant role in securing the Indian coasts and enforcing the regulations within the Maritime Zones of India.

With a modest beginning of just 7 ships in 1978, the service has grown into a formidable force with 119 ships, 62 aircraft, and 42 stations. Keeping a hawk’s vigil on the Indian Coast, the service has provided an impregnable coastal security mechanism to the nation.

On 12th August 2008, India Post issued a set of four commemorative postage stamps on 'INDIAN COAST GUARD' of denominations INR 5 each. The stamps depict the coordinated air and surface capabilities of the Coast Guard.

Set against the background of oceanic blue the stamps depict a Dornier Fixed Wing Aircraft, an Advanced Light Helicopter, a Hover Craft and an Offer-shore Patrol Vessel.

On this day we salute and appreciated the pivotal role played by the service in ensuring the national interests in the Maritime Zones!

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm