Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


National Bird Day

01 Feb 2019  Fri

A crested peafowl, also known as Peacock, is an exotic bird commonly found in India. This gifted bird looks exquisite with a blue velvety slender neck and blue-golden plumage which ends in long tail consisting of bright and shiny blue-green and bronze feathers. It has long sturdy brown legs with small silvery beak and similar eye patches along a natural crown-make on its head adorn a royal touch to it.

On 1st February 1963, Peacock was adopted as the ‘National Bird’ of India. The criteria set for the selection of national bird by Government of India were gracefully fulfilled by the peacock. The motifs of this bird are used in the architecture of Indian temple, the design of fabric, coinage, etc.

This beautiful bird won the title against a few others. Some of the other birds considered for the honour were the Great Indian Bustard, the Sarus crane, the “Garuda” and the Swan (Hamsa), the strongest contender being the Great Indian Bustard.

India Post has issued various commemorative stamps with special attention on our national bird. The stamp depicted beside was issued by the Department of Posts as a set of two Commemorative Postage Stamps on the theme of National Birds of India and Papua New Guinea featuring ‘Peacock’ of India and ‘Raggiana bird-of-paradise’ of Papua New Guinea.

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm