Copper Quarter Anna of Sirohi State

30 Jan 2019  Wed

A Princely State of British India: Sirohi, meaning “Self-respect”, who’s Rajputs were ready to die for self-respect.

It was a part of Rajputana Agency situated in India with its capital at Sirohi. It became a part of British India in 1823. Shortly after independence in 1947, Sirohi was submerged with the Rajasthan State on 16th November 1949 and its existence came to an end.

The Royal lineage of Sirohi belongs to Chauhans of Deora and was established by Rao Shereshthmal in 1482 VS. The coinage history of this state is rare. This copper quarter Anna was issued during the reign of Sheo Singh. He ruled the Sirohi Princely State from 1816 to 1862 AD. This coin represents the Scimitar, VS date, Mint name and Julus formula.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm