Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


Ecuador 20 Sucre banknote of 1920

30 Jan 2019  Wed

Ecuador is a country straddling the equator on South America’s west coast. Its diverse landscape encompasses Amazon jungle, Andean highlands, and the wildlife-rich Galápagos Islands. In the Andean foothills at an elevation of 2,850m, Quito, the capital, is known for its largely intact Spanish colonial center, with decorated 16th- and 17th-century palaces and religious sites, like the ornate Compania de Jesus Church.

The Sucre was the currency of Ecuador between 1884 and 2000. It was subdivided into 10 Decimos or 100 Centavos. The sucre was named after Latin American political leader Antonio Jose de Sucre. The currency was replaced by the US dollar as a result of the 1998–99 financial crisis.

The note depicted beside is a 20 Sucre banknote of 1920. The obverse depicts Christopher Columbus, while the reverse features the landing of Christopher Columbus in the New World.

Image Courtesy: PopScreen

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm