Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


Silver Nazarana Rupee of Isvari Singh

24 Jan 2019  Thu

Jaipur was the Princely State of India from 1128 to 1947 CE. It was ruled from the 12th century till India's independence by different rulers in different ages like Dhundhar, Kachwaha, Amber and Jaipur Kingdoms. Jaipur state was also ruled by the Mughal Empire and later by the British Empire. The city of Jaipur was founded by Maharaja Jai Singh II in the year 1728.

Maharaja Sawai Isvari Singh was the ruler of Jaipur Princely State. He ascended the throne after the death of his father, Sawai Jai Singh II, in 1743 and ruled till 1760 AD. During the reign issued various coins.

Represented here is silver Nazarana Rupee issued during his reign. The obverse of a coin depicts the Persian legend ‘Sikka Mubarak Badshah Gazi Ahmad Shah Bahadur’ with AH 1166. The reverse of a coin depicts with ‘Zarb Sawai Jaipur Sanah 6 Julus Mainamat Manus’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm