Mini Festive Sale! Flat 10% Off on our Exclusive Products. Shop Now


Gold Mohur of Dharmendra Singhji sold for INR 80,000

19 Jan 2019  Sat

Rajkot Princely State was a part of Kathiawar Agency of the Bombay province. The rulers of Rajkot were titled 'Thakur Sahib' with the style of 'His Highness.

Dharmendra Singhji ruled the Rajkot from 1930 to 1948 AD. During the reign, he issued coins in gold and silver. These coins were issued in the denomination of Mohur from Rajkot mint.

Depicted here is a gold Mohur issued during his reign. This coin depicts the rising sun with inscription ‘Rajkot State’ around. The reverse of a coin shows the Coat of arms of state (Running Deer above crescent, Ranje Dharma Praja Raja in Gujarati written on crescent, Trident, Mint name and Date).

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base

Online: 9.00 am to 6.00 pm