Australian Stamps Honour Children’s Book Authors

19 Jan 2019  Sat

Australia Post released a special set of five postage stamps dedicated to Children’s Book authors from the country. The set is named "Australian legends of children’s literature" and is a part of its 2019 Legends Awards. One stamp features a photograph Mem Fox, who has written books like "Where is the Green Sheep" and "Puffin". The second one is dedicated to Morris Gleitzman who has authored "Once" and "Puffin". The third one features Leigh Hobbs who is known for his works like "Mr Chicken Goes to Paris" and "A&U". The other author is Alison Lester, who has written "Magic Beach" and "A&U". The final stamp features Shaun Tan, who has written books like "The Lost Thing" and "Lothian".

The Australia Post Legends Award series was introduced 23 years ago. This time, the Awards would be given to living Australians who have excelled in their respective fields. Senior officials of Australian Post stated that the popular children’s books written by these authors have been loved and appreciated all across the country over the years.

The 2010 release of "Australian legends" was dedicated to fiction authors such as Peter Carey, Bryce Courtenay, Thomas Keneally, David Malouf, Colleen McCullough and Tim Winton. A special set of stamps was released in 2014, dedicated to cookbook authors such as Margaret Fulton, Maggie Beer, Stephanie Alexander, Neil Perry and Kylie Kwong. A 24-carat-gold replica of the stamp was given to the respective authors.

The 2019 Australia Post Legends will also be felicitated during the Australia Day council events in Melbourne and Sydney. Philatelic products related to the series along with books by the authors are being sold by Australia Post.

Image Courtesy: Australia Post

Knowledge Base