The United States Virgin Island Quarter Rupee

19 Jan 2019  Sat

The United States of America had issued a commemorative coin in the year 2009. This island is located in the Caribbean Sea east of Puerto Rico, were explored by Christopher Columbus in 1493.

The United Nations Virgin Island features three major islands; the Yellow Cedar or Yellow Elder, the official flower; and a Tyre Palm Tree. During the Napoleonic Wars, the island was occupied by the English from 1801-1802 and from 1807-1815. First, it was named as Danish West Indies, later it was purchased by the United States from Denmark.

This coin was issued by the United Nations in the year 2009.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base