Postage Stamps Honour Ashok Chakra Awardees from Police Department

31 Dec 2018  Mon

Keonjhar police in association with India Post released 10 special postage stamps under ‘My Stamp’ scheme to salute the brave Police officers from Odisha who received the Ashok Chakra award for sacrificing their lives for the nation. The 5 rupees stamps depict photos of the martyrs with the Konark Sun Temple in the background.

One of the stamps is dedicated to Assistant Commandant of Special Operation Group of Odisha Police, Pramod Kumar Satpathy who was awarded the Ashok Chakra on 26th January 2009 for laying down his life in a 2008 Naxal attack.

Other officers honoured in this release include IPS Randhir Prasad Verma, Kamalesh Kumari Yadav, R.P Diengdoh, Mohan Chand Sharma, Tukaram Omble, Vijay Salaskar, Hemant Karkare, Ashok Kamte and K Prasad Babu.

Keonjhar police officials stated that the stamps were released so that members of the public remember the unsung heroes of the country. Around 84 police personnel have received India’s highest peacetime gallantry medal till date.

Image Courtesy: Google Images

Knowledge Base