Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Commemorative Coin

24 Oct 2018  Wed

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad was born on 11th November 1888; he was an Indian Scholar and a senior Political leader of Indian independence movement. Azad was the first education minister of independent India. Maulana was also a prominent political leader of Indian National Congress and was elected as Congress president in the year 1923 and 1940. He was one of the most prominent Muslim leaders, Despite being a Muslim, Azad often stood against the radicalizing policies of other prominent Muslims leaders like Muhammad Ali Jinnah and opposed partition of India. In the year 1992, Abul Kalam Azad was posthumously awarded the highest civilian award ‘Bharat Ratna’.

Indian Government had issued his commemorative 5 Rupee coin on 11th November 2013. Other Commemorative coins in proof and UNC were also issued by the Indian Government with the denomination of 20 rupees.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base