James Monroe One Dollar

18 Oct 2018  Thu

James Monroe was an American statesman; he served his country as the fifth president from the year 1817 to 1825. He was also a member of U.S Continental Congress, minister to France and Great Britain and governor of Virginia. He was the last chief executive to personally fight for independence from Britain during the Revolutionary War. Monroe was the last president of the Virginia dynasty, His time in office is known as the “Era of Good Feelings” for the peace and booming economy the country enjoyed.

The United States of America had issued a one dollar commemorative coin in the year 2008. The obverse of this coin depicts the portrait of James Monroe facing towards the right in the center; with the inscription ‘JAMES MONROE’ at the top and ‘5th PRESIDENT 1817-1825’ at the bottom. The reverse of the coin depicts ‘Statue of Liberty’ with 1$ ‘UNITED STATES OF AMERICA’ around.

Image Courtesy: usmint.gov

Knowledge Base