Coin of Sayaji Rao III

12 Oct 2018  Fri

Sayaji Rao III belonged to the royal Gaekwad dynasty of the Marathas which ruled parts of present-day Gujarat. He was a Maharaja of Baroda State from 1875 to1939, and is notably remember for reforming much of his state during his rule.

Sayaji Rao III issued remarkable variety of gold, silver, copper, tin and white metal coins during the reign. These coins were struck from Baroda and Amreli mints. The denominations are Mohur, Rupee, Paisa, Annas, Pai etc.

One of his extremely rare gold Mohur was sold for INR 3,90,000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery. This coin portraying the bust of Sayaji Rao III on its obverse and Devanagri inscription ‘Vadode Ek Mohar 1959’ and Scimitar within wreath inscribed on its reverse.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base