Tajikistan 1 Ruble banknote

08 Oct 2018  Mon

Tajikistan is a country in Central Asia surrounded by Afghanistan, China, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan. It’s known for rugged mountains and is popular for hiking and climbing. The Fann Mountains, near the national capital of Dushanbe, have snow-capped peaks that rise over 5,000 meters. The range encompasses the Iskanderkulsky Nature Refuge, a notable bird habitat named for Iskanderkul and a turquoise lake formed by glaciers.

Though the current currency of Tajikistan is Somoni which is subdivided into 100 Diram, the Rouble or Ruble was the currency of Tajikistan between May 10, 1995 and October 29, 2000. It was subdivided into 100 Tanga, although no coins or banknotes were issued in Tanga.

The 1 Ruble banknote shown in the image alongside was issued in the year 1994. The note specifications are as follows:

Obverse: Tajikistani Coat of Arms to left with the serial number to right. Denominational value in numerals and words is seen in the centre within a traditional floral design. Legend “National Bank of Tajikistan” to top with the year of issue in bottom centre. Main colours: Brown, orange and green.

Reverse: Majlisi Olii – Tajik, the Parliament of Tajikistan with the National Flag in seen in the centre set within an ornate design with denominational value to left and top corners and in words at bottom. Watermark: Stars.

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base