Burmese 10 cents of 1942

04 Oct 2018  Thu

Myanmar, officially the Republic of the Union of Myanmar and also known as Burma, is a country in Southeast Asia. Yangon (formerly Rangoon), the country's largest city, is home to bustling markets, numerous parks and lakes, and the towering, gilded Shwedagon Pagoda, which contains Buddhist relics and dates to the 6th century.

The history of Burma is vibrant, ranging from pre-historic times to early republic city states, from Imperial Burmese rulers to the British dominating the land. After three Anglo-Burmese Wars (1824–1885), Britain proclaimed control over most of Burma. With the fall of Mandalay, all of Burma came under British rule, being annexed on 1 January 1886. Onwards it later separated from India and made into a separate British Colony and the was later century invaded by the Japanese empire during the second world war.

The Japanese occupation of Burma was the period between 1942 and 1945 during World War II, when Burma was occupied by the Empire of Japan. During these years banknotes were issued by the Provisional Government. The note depicted besides is a 10 cents banknote issued during the Japanese occupation of Burma.

This brown note issued in 1942 is of a very simple design and has on its front Guilloche patterns with denomination "10" and Text “The Japanese Government. Ten Cents”, while the back has Guilloche pattern with rosettes.

Image Courtesy: Pinterest

Knowledge Base