Silver Quarter Rupee of Farrukhsiyar

24 Jul 2018  Tue

Farrukhsiyar was the Mughal Empire who reigned from 1713 to 1719 AD. He sat on the Mughal throne with the help of Sayyid brothers, particularly, Sayyid Ali Khan Barha, who was chosen as grand wazir of Mughal Emperor.

Coins of Farukhsiyar were issued in gold, silver and copper from various mints. The denominations are Paisa, Mohur, Rupee, Dam, Fanam, Pagoda, Nisar, and Legal Dirham etc.

One of his silver quarters Rupee Nisar was sold for INR 50,000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery. The obverse of a coin depicts the legend ‘Farrukhsiyar Badshah Gazi’ while the reverse of a coin inscribed with the mint name and AH date.

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base