Copper Nazarana Paisa of Jaipur

07 Jul 2018  Sat

Jaipur was ruled by different dynasties from 1128 CE till 1947 CE. From 12 the Century it was ruled by the different rulers like Dhundhar, Kachwaha, Amber and Jaipur kingdom till the Independence of India. The state was also ruled by the Mughals and later it came into the hands of the British Empire.

The pink city Jaipur was founded by Maharaja Jai Singh II in the year 1728 CE; it is the largest city in Rajasthan. Maharaja Sawai Man Singh was the last ruling Maharaja of Jaipur State belongs to the Kachwaha clan of Rajputs. He ruled the princely state between 1922 and 1949 when the state acceded into the Dominion of India.

This rare copper Nazarana Paisa, which weighs around 18.6g, it was issued in the name of Mughal emperor Muhammad Akbar II. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the name and title of Muhammad Akbar II. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with the mint name ‘Sawai Jaipur’ with the mint mark ‘Jhar’.

This coin is listed for INR 6000 in the upcoming Electronic auction of Todywalla which will be held on 15th July 2018.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base