Dead Country’s Banknotes series

14 May 2018  Mon

Dead country? Yes, you read it right. Dead countries are such countries, sovereign states, nations, empires or territories that no longer exist as political entities!

What is interesting to note is that at least one geographical entity or a state ceases to exist every month! Absurd isn’t it? We somehow never take into account such seemingly minor political shifts of power and territorial control.

So technically, any historical sovereign state or a monarchy that once existed, but has since been dissolved due to conflict, war, rebellion, annexation, or uprising is said to be a “Former Sovereign State” or to put in simple words a “Dead State”.

These states when in power used to issue their own stamps, currencies and banknotes. So if you are looking for a new theme for your collection, this is it. Brush up on your world history and politics and start an exciting collection of banknotes or stamps from these dead countries.

We will be covering a few in our upcoming articles. Stay tuned for more. Happy Collecting fellas!

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base