Coin of Bajranggarh Princely State

19 Apr 2018  Thu

Many of the Kingdoms came under British rule were called Princely State of British India. British had their own monetary system but at least 125 states produced their own coinage, mainly in the period from 1800 to 1900, though a number continued to issue coins until 1947..

Bajranggarh was a small state situated in the district of Gwalior. The mint epithet of Bajranggarh was Jainagar. All the coins which were minted in this mint were struck in the name of Maharaja Jai Singh and it bears the legend in Devnagari Script.

The above coin is one of the examples of the Jainagar mint coin. Both obverse and reverse of this coin are inscribed with the Devanagari script on the coin within the dotted and line border.

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base