New 50 Pence Beatrix Potter Coins to be Released

20 Feb 2018  Tue

A new series of 50 pence circulation coins and silver-proof collector versions featuring coloured characters from the famous books written by Beatrix Potter were announced on Monday by the Royal Mint.

The coins will depict characters like Peter Rabbit, Mrs Tittlemouse, and Flopsy Bunny. They will be circulated for a limited time period by the end of 2018. Coloured collectable versions will cost 10 pounds or 60 pounds.

Beatrix Potter collection was launched in 2016 to celebrate the 150th birth anniversary of Beatrix Potter. The series has been extremely popular since then. Sale of Peter Rabbit coin began on Monday on the Royal Mint's website. Other three coins will go on sale in March. The coin designs are created from hand-painted illustrations from Potter's books. The eight special coins issued by the Royal Mint are valued at 50 pence, 1 pence, 2 pence, 5 pence, 10 pence, 20 pence, one pound and two pounds.

Image Courtesy Royal Mint

Knowledge Base