Bengal Sultanate coins in the name of Shams Al-Din Iltutmish

27 Nov 2017  Mon

The Bengal Sultanate was an independent medieval Islamic state established in Bengal in 1342. Its realm and influence extended across modern-day Bangladesh, East India and West Burma.

When Muhammad bin Sam established the Delhi Sultanate, his armies conquered the entire Ganges basin, all the way to Bengal, and coins began to be issued there in the name of the Delhi Sultan in 1203. Controlling Bengal from as far away as Delhi, however, was a difficult task and the governors of Bengal periodically exercised their independence. The first truly independent sultanate in Bengal emerged after the death of Balban in 1287.

This Silver Tanka was issued in the reign of Ghiyath Al-Din Iwad the governor of Bengal struck in the name of Dehli Sultan Shams Al-Din Iltutmish. This coin is listed for INR 2,00,000 to 2,50,000 at Classical Numismatic Gallery.

The obverse of the coin depicts horseman facing left in central circle and Kalima- La Ilaha Illa Allahu Muhammadur Rasulullah, mint name, and date in words in the margin preceded by Ba- Tarikh. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with Persian legend ‘Al Sultan Al Muazzam Shams Al Dunya Waaldin Abu Al Harith Iltutmish Al Qutbi Nasir Al Momineen’.

Knowledge Base