Traditional Yoruba drummers on Nigerian Banknote

20 May 2022  Fri

The Naira currency is divided into 100 Kobo. The Central Bank of Nigeria is responsible for currency management, through the designs, procurement, distribution/supply, processing, reissue, and disposal/disintegration of banknotes and coins.

The polymer version replaced an older paper version. On the 5 NGN banknote is the portrait of Sir Tafawa Balewa, former Prime Minister of Nigeria. And another side of the five naira banknote shows traditional Yoruba drummers. It also shows a map outline of Nigeria with the Nigerian flag, green white green in vertical bands.

The Central Bank of Nigeria issued Nigerian Naira banknotes in 9 different denominations, including these 5 Nigerian Naira banknotes (TafawaBalewa). These banknotes series are in circulation. The Central Bank of Nigeria started issuing these 5 Nigerian Naira banknotes in 2009.

You can add up one more polymer banknote into your collection, by clicking here .

Disclaimer: Due to the latest government guideline, deliveries may take a little longer time than usual.

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm