2 Pies Coin with Trishul

19 Oct 2021  Tue

Mewar state was also known as Udaipur state. The Mewar kingdom was established around 530 AD. Chittorgarh, the capital of Mewar was conquered by the Mughal Emperor Akhbar in 1568. Thereafter, it remained under Mughals for the next 150 years. It was ruled by several dynasties of Mori, Guhilot, and Sisodia. The rulers of Mewar used the title “Maharana”.

The state includes present-day districts of Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Udaipur, Pirawa Tehsil District Jhalawar of Rajasthan, Neemuch, Mandsaur of Madhya Pradesh, and some regions of Gujarat. Geographically, it lies between the Aravali Range to the northwest, Ajmer to the north, Gujarat and the Vagad region of Rajasthan to the south, the Malwa region of Madhya Pradesh state to the southeast, and the Hadoti region of Rajasthan to the east.

The copper 2 Pies coin was issued by Bhim Singh in the name of Shah Alam at Chitor mint. The magnificent coin has trident carving on the backside and King’s name and title on the front side.

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm